St. Basil’s Cathedral

One of my most favorite drawings is one I did three months ago.  It is a drawing of St. Basil’s Cathedral.  St. Basil’s Cathedral is located in Moscow Russia.  Ivan the Terrible ordered this cathedral to be built; they started the project in 1555 and finished six years later in 1561.  I thought this would be a very interesting and beautiful drawing so I started drawing it; and now I am glad I did.  Below is the picture of St. Basil’s Cathedral:

Original Picture

Below is the picture I have drawn:

Drawn Picture

For this picture I used a variety of tools.  The pencils I used are 2H, HB, 3B and 6B.  I also used a kneadable eraser and a regular eraser.  For the blending and softening I used a small, medium and large blending tool.  For this picture I used the graph method so I could pick up all of the close, small details.  This cathedral is one of the prettiest I have ever seen.

About Life Drawn Out

I draw pictures using graphite pencils and markers.

Posted on September 2, 2011, in Art, Cathedrals, Drawing, Graph Method and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Beautiful!!! The first time I saw St. Basil’s Cathedral in person, I never dreamed I would have such a talented son 19 years later. You are an amazing blessing in my life!!! Love you!

  2. This has always been one of my favorites of yours! Keep Drawing and please post more! Wouldn’t it be great if we could go to Russia some day?

  3. Thank you guys. That is so nice of you! 🙂 It would be great to go to
    Russia

  4. Thank you for visiting my Lego site! Nice drawing.

Leave a Reply

